Announcement of New U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Chair, Vice Chair, and Member

March 12, 2018 – The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) today announced the appointments of Susan J. Curry, Ph.D., as chair; Alex H. Krist, M.D., M.P.H., as vice chair; and John B. Wong, M.D., as a member. Douglas K. Owens, M.D., M.S., will remain in his role as vice chair. Dr. Curry will assume the role of chair from David C. Grossman, M.D., M.P.H., who will now serve as the immediate past chair.

Dr. Curry was previously appointed vice chair in March 2016 and served as a member of the Task Force from January 2009 to December 2014. She is interim executive vice president and provost of the University of Iowa, where she also serves as a distinguished professor of health management and policy in the College of Public Health. She is also a member of the National Academy of Medicine. Dr. Curry’s many professional activities include past service as dean of the University of Iowa College of Public Health from 2008 to 2017, vice chair of the board of directors of the Truth Initiative, and member of the National Cancer Institute's board of scientific advisors.

Dr. Krist has been a member of the Task Force since January 2015 and is a professor of family medicine and population health at Virginia Commonwealth University and active clinician and teacher at the Fairfax Family Practice Residency. He is co-director of the Virginia Ambulatory Care Outcomes Research Network and director of community-engaged research at the Center for Clinical and Translational Research.

Dr. Wong is chief of the division of clinical decision making and a primary care physician in the Department of Medicine at Tufts Medical Center and professor of medicine at the Tufts University School of Medicine. He is also director of comparative effectiveness research for the Tufts Clinical Translational Science Institute and a professor of medicine in the Tufts University Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences.

Professional biographies for Dr. Curry, Dr. Krist, Dr. Wong, and all Task Force members are available on the Task Force Web site at